“Attitude is a little thing that makes a big difference”
-Winston Churchill

Attitude: The manner of acting, feeling, or thinking that shows one’s disposition, opinion

Epictetus

Even if I lack the talent, I will not abandon the effort on that account. In short, we do not abandon any discipline for despair of ever being the best in it. (Book I – 2)

When you are by yourself you should call it peace and liberty, and consider yourself the gods’ equal. When you’re with a large group you shouldn’t say you’re in a mob or crowd, but a guest at a feast or festival – and in that spirit learn to enjoy it. (Book I 12)

The true man is revealed in difficult times. So when trouble comes, think of yourself as a wrestler who God, like a trainer, has paired you with a tough young buck. (Book I – 24)

Old men like us, you know, when we see children at play, like nothing better than to join them in their game. Likewise, I would be a lot more excited about joining you in serious study if I were once to see you bright-eyed and enthusiastic. (Book I – 10)

